Best and Worst Day. All in one.

So there’s this youth in my town who I have had a really hard time talking to/connecting with. It’s my job to try to reach all members of my community, since it’s so small, and so to have one person who I literally haven’t been able to speak to has been a real struggle for me. This guy is 18 years old, a 4th year in the Liceo (essentially senior in high school), he’s a bit of a tiguere (the more caliente, partier, prone to drinking and going out type of person), and so the target audience of my sexual health work here. He’s rarely in town, does not attend Escojo Mi Vida meetings, and so I never see him. When I do see him, he’s not jumping to hang out with/talk with me.

 

The other day, I had to walk to the pueblo to make some photocopies (of hand-drawn pictures of penises and vaginas…for educational purposes of course!), stop by the public market (for my weekly veggie run), stop at the supermarket (to stock up on some powdered milk and dehydrated soy-meat) and run a few other errands. As I passed by Carlito’s house he was standing outside, asked me if I was heading to Partido, and then offered to join me on the walk. I was kind of nervous to be completely honest. I didn’t really know what was going on.

 

After some awkward silence (something I’ve gotten REALLY good at doing), we started talking. He turned on some music from his cell phone, and we had an awesome discussion about music. Turns out we both really like a lot of the same style of music (the only difference being that his is in Spanish and mine English). Then Carlito asked me about my workouts, as he’s noticed me running and working out around town. He informed me that he really wants to start going to this gym that someone set up in Partido and invited me to be his weight-lifting partner. I was so overjoyed, I don’t think he even realized how excited I was. We immediately started planning out a weight-lifting schedule that would work for the two of us. I even convinced him to run to the gym rather than ride his motorcycle so that we could fit in some good cardio.

 

Then we talked about how we both really enjoy dancing. He told me he was heading to a dance class in Partido and that I should stop by if I wanted since it was nearly 4 hours long. As soon as I finished up my errands, I stopped by the dance class, since I of course love me some dance and also because I’ve learned how important it is to show investment in my community members especially when they show interest in spending time with me. Turns out that this dance class was for ages all the way from 7-18. Carlito was the oldest one there, but the whole group was dynamic, interested in learning the history of dance, and excited to learn some traditional dances like bachata, merengue, and this particular day “La Chincha” (“The Flea” a traditional Peruvian dance).

 

I joined in, partnered up and we did some dancing. Carlito bought me a biscocho at a colmado and then we started walking back to La Culata. He invited me back to his house to check out some videos that he had made with his dance crew. It turns out Carlito is rarely in La Culata because he’s always practicing with his Dance Crew, which is called, “El Swager” (the BEST name I’ve ever heard for a dance crew). We watched some of his dance videos (primarily Dembow…google it…such a strange but fun Dominican dance). Then we watched some music videos that he had on his computer and planned to exchange some music sometime. I was walking on air by this point.

 

Then I got home and realized that somewhere during my time in the market/running errands, someone had robbed me of my iPod. For those that know me, music is one of the most important parts of life for me. Music is how I relax, it’s how I remember experiences, and it’s one of my favorite ways to get to know someone. It is not a rare occurrence for me to close my doors and windows, turn on some music and dance around my house. Music is what truly keeps me going every day that I’m down here in the Peace Corps. So to have my iPod stolen was a horrid discovery.

 

Luckily, and thanks to modern technology, in a mere 24 hours, a great friend from college, Chloe, offered to send me a replacement iPod so now I only have to wait for that AMAZING package in the mail (but let’s be honest…who knows how long that will take).

 

Speaking of music…here are a few links to some songs (both American and Dominican) that I’m addicted to right now:

 

Leave a comment